Skip to content

Soap

June 23, 2007

Okay, so here we go again. For a first post this seems like an old excercise and before I get into the nitty gritty I’d like to thank you if you are coming over from the BCOM blog which certainly had its hour of glory, and I’d like to thank you if you are just coming in her because you want to and you don’t know me from a bar of soap. I will try to make these posts as interesting and passionate as possible and if I have only one good post in me stay tuned and try to find it.

soap.jpg

I read this post by Guy Kawasaki (and if you haven’t already read my stupendous and in-depth interview check it out here) with an interesting interview in which Guy talks with Doug Lawrence about different techniques people can use when presenting which singers use to capivate their audience. Seeing as their was an email address at the bottom I thought I’d shoot off a question to Doug to see if he had any advice when communicating in a different language. like the true professional he is (and if you don’t believe me check out the CV), he responded immediately and although short it makes for interesting reading. Tell me what you think.

Hello Timothy,

I’m sorry it took me so long to answer. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the blog.
I’ve been a singer all my life and have sung in 10 different languages and find that each language presents its own peculiar problems.

Some simple tips, I suggest the following:

For French, keep the sound forward and slightly “lippy,” almost as though you are about to kiss someone.
For English, keep a high arching soft palate and try to keep all those annoying consonants out of the way and use only the air in your mouth to create them, not your lungs.
For German, “wrestle” with every consonant and good luck with vowels. ?:-)

Hope this is helpful,
Doug
P.S. Love the interview with Guy!

Well thanks Doug! I liked your interview too and if you still want more tips check out the follow up here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2007 7:52 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Doug Lawrence permalink
    June 25, 2007 8:28 am

    Thanks for the follow-up moment. Glad to be of help.

    Doug

  3. June 26, 2007 4:36 am

    No problemo Doug.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

