Skip to content

How Much Does Elegance Matter?

January 20, 2009

shoes

Just how much does it cost your company to be more elegant?

el·e·gance (ěl’ĭ-gəns)

1. Refinement, grace, and beauty in movement, appearance, or manners.
2. Tasteful opulence in form, decoration, or presentation.
3. Restraint and grace of style.
4. Scientific exactness and precision.

Are the decisions you make in the way you present your company giving your employees and your customers that sense of calm associated with experiencing elegance? Maybe it’s old fashioned but in the race to assure things like speed, efficiency, percentages, and margins somewhere along the line alot of us have forgotten to do business with elegance.

Elegance is an effort in presentation which is given freely to our contacts. Like a gift. If I make the effort to clean my shoes this costs nothing and gives the message – the people I have contact with count. They are important. They count enough for me to make the effort to present myself with a level of appropriate elegance. Is my meeting room clean? Is there good coffee to offer? Is there an alternative to coffee? Is the receptionist a human? (I will talk more about this) etc, etc.

If you think people don’t notice you are dead wrong. I just left a company where I had an extended conversation (not instigated by me for once) about my shoes.

Does it change the product? No. Does it change the information? No. Does it change the message I give? Yes. Because it changes the experience people have when they are in contact with my company.

Can this make the difference between signing contracts or not? You decide.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

