Skip to content

Run

September 10, 2007

“Ideas,are so fragile, so tenuous, that managers must destroy layers that can obscure or damage them. If you have an organization that is too administrative, you are just killing the ideas. As we say in France, when you ask a committee to draw a horse, you get a camel.” Maurice Levy.

And this was the end of me for my old employer. Not naming names but we were pushing out camels three times a week and standing around wondering if they were going to win the Kentucky Derby. The layers Maurice is talking about are the bankets which give the impression of administrative safety and even work, God forbid, but will eventually suffocate your business. Slowly but surely, if you are surrounding yourself with this crap, you will die.

Ideas are the cornerstones of projecting into the future. The fact business turn off the idea machine at a certain point is ridiculous by definition.

“Hey boss, I’ve got this idea that just might work!”
“Oh, I’m sorry didin’t they tell you, we stopped taking new ideas on board three years ago.”

Run. This is my advice. Run and don’t look back. I don’t know who said it but for every successful business someone somewhere made a courageous decision. Are you making courageous decisions or are you covering yourself with blankets?

Full interview with Maurice Levy CEO of Publicis here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. thistimenow permalink
    September 11, 2007 4:38 am

    I came across your blog about an hour ago and so far I’m learning a great deal. Thank you. We’re in two totally different lines of work but all is connected, isn’t it? I to have a blog and plenty of ideas. Currently I teach English in Seoul, South Korea and I do enjoy what I’m learning here. I am going to use your blog to gain more knowledge about business, entrepreneurship, etc. I am in talks with the USABC about a business deal that involves travel and education.
    I just started a blog myself : http://www.nearandfar.wordpress.com
    I lived in Paris for 5 years starting in 1997, and in Gothenburge, Sweden in the early nineties. Have a good day!

    Felicia

  2. September 11, 2007 7:08 am

    You’re welcome. Yes, many things are connected and the idea is to join the dots. I hope your deal comes through, good luck and keep on punching.

  3. September 2, 2008 11:17 pm

    wow !!
    its very point of view.
    Good post.
    realy good post

    thank you😉

  4. Tim permalink*
    September 3, 2008 6:46 am

    Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

