Skip to content

Snubbed.

April 17, 2008

Here’s something to chew on – don’t blow an opportunity. I’ll explain. I was invited to a round table-ish presentation and sat next to a guy I’d seen before. I knew he was the president of some regional consultancy thing and I took the time to say hello and even threw caution to the wind by saying I was interested to know more about his gig. I gave him the ten word pitch about what we do and waited for some sign of reciprocal interest and/or the possibilty of further conversation. What happened? Nothing. Zip. The guy clams up and tells me nothing which is the same as being snubbed.

Now let’s imagine I’m not the dashing professional that I am
for a moment and pretend I was dressed like a bum with egg on my shirt. I was presenting an opportunity to Mr. Regional President of whatever consultancy thingy (I actually have all the details about this group and am being coy for those who haven’t caught on) and he chose to ignore it. His group makes money by making people pay to be part of a larger federated group to feel less isolated as independant consultants.

Now maybe the guy is incredibly astute and recognized immediately I didn’t fit the profile (not being independant with that vaguely crazed and wild look of the newly proclaimed consultant) but I presented him with an opportunity anyway. When presented with opportunity (or permission as some may call it) don’t blow it off. Blowing off a presented opportunity is worse than having no opportunity at all. Naomi Dunford (in serious mea culpa mode but still as witty as ever) looks at this from the flip side after snubbing someone she probably shouldn’t have because business is about people and all politicking aside, the business you end up with is the one you deserve.

Despite what it looks like this is not a post to vent my feelings about the aforementioned regional president bozo but to ruminate on how easy it is to lose business by not paying attention to the knocking of opportunity. Good luck everyone and be careful for whom the doorbell tolls…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2008 4:19 pm

    The way I look at it is this:

    In the fullness of time I usually have more business than I need or even want, so it’s ok that someone blows me off.

    Moreover, because I usually have more than I want, I can afford to be picky about my customers.. and the kind of jackass who would rudely ignore someone else like that isn’t the kind of person I want to work with anyway.

    So it works out. By showing me his true colors, he’s actually saved me time and effort.

  2. Tim permalink*
    April 18, 2008 5:14 am

    That’s a good way to look at things. The time spent on creating a business which corresponds to all the fabulous ideals one has at the outset shouldn’t be squandered on a bozo clientele. If you start to aim low you will end up with these clients only.

Leave a Reply

